top of page

The Myth of RAHU and KETU: the Lunar Nodes

The Myth of RAHU and KETU
The Myth of RAHU and KETU

The Myth of RAHU and KETU: the Lunar Nodes:

Rahu and Ketu are the two major Lunar Nodes in Vedic Astrology. They are sometimes referred to as the shadow planets because, unlike the seven visible planets, known as Grahas in Sanskrit, they are massless but powerful mathematical points in space. Because of the way our solar system is set up, it takes the Earth around 365 days to orbit the Sun and the Moon about 28 days to orbit the Earth. There is no mutual dependency between these two orbital routes. Nonetheless, the trajectories cross twice a year, producing lunar and solar eclipses. One of the nodes briefly obscures the Sun or Moon with its darkness. The ascending point where the Earth's orbit and the Moon's intersect is known as Rahu. The descending point is Ketu.

The primary forces of karma and desire can be observed along its axis, and they are always opposite one another in the sky or birth chart. We can better understand their role in Vedic Astrology if we are familiar with the myth that goes along with it.

Ancient Puranic writings from before the birth of the universe tell the story. The gods and devils worked together to agitate the Milk Ocean, a region of cosmic material, following a protracted and horrifying war. Amrita, a nectar of immortality meant only for gods, was created by this practice. But one of the demons, positioned between the Sun and the Moon, succeeded in taking a taste. He was soon beheaded by the Universe's sustainer, Lord Vishnu.

Rahu is the head only, the body absent from the serpent demon. Ketu means "tail without head." Lord Vishnu had to find a place for them because they were now immortal, so he set them in two distinct locations in the sky. Twice a year, they can cause confusion and exact retribution by eclipsing the Sun and Moon.

We are able to live under the delusion that we are distinct from the global law of creation because we are misguided about our actual nature. Every planet is a manifestation of our individual divine awareness, according to Vedic philosophy. The nodes are among the most important in Astrology because they unite the Earth (body), Sun (soul), and Moon (mind). Rahu is the advancing army in the planetary cabinet.

There is inexperience wherever Rahu is. It's the occupying army, Ketu. He effectively oversees the lessons we have learned. Withdrawing, he walks us out. He can bestow insight or disdain, followed by nonattachment and, at the end, moksha or Salvation. The Rahu/Ketu axis, whether in a person's birth chart or through sky transit, indicates what needs to be done in order to be released from worldly desire. The nodal axis moves slowly, shifting signs of the zodiac once every 1.5 years.

But Ketu and Rahu cause chaos wherever they go. The confusion of ignorance is Rahu's realm; the confusion of assurance is Ketu's. Understanding and studying Vedic Astrology is in and of itself a spiritual discipline that inherently inspires respect for its innate knowledge and direction.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page